Rice Pudding

Martha's rice pudding

When I was in high school, I worked in a Greek ice cream shop. One side was a chocolate shop and the other was an ice cream shop. The ice cream shop also sold homemade (actually made at home by the owner’s wife) rice pudding which was delicious. I’ve never tried to make it though, so when I saw that Martha had a recipe for honey rice pudding in April Living, I decided to give it a go. The recipe called for arborio rice, which seemed sort of odd to me. I know my grandmother never used arborio rice in hers. I went with it though. The recipe is simple – 3 1/2 cups milk (I mixed skim milk and some heavy cream), 1/2 cup arborio rice, 1/2 tsp salt, and a tsp of vanilla with 2 tbsp sugar (I added more since I decided I didn’t want to add honey to this). That’s it. Martha says to cook 20-25 minutes. Mine took MUCH longer – about 45 minutes to get the right consistency. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top when serving (you have to do this – it makes it taste even better).

After I made this, I called my mom and got my grandmother’s recipe and made it for comparison. Don’t tell anyone, but Martha’s is much, much better! My grandmother’s recipe involves egg and gets baked in a water bath.  It tastes very eggy, not nearly as creamy and it just more complicated. Martha’s method is straightforward and totally fab. In fact, it all disappeared within 12 hours. So now I’ll be making some more since there is rioting.

Bookmark and Share

15 Responses to Rice Pudding

  1. Karen Bannan says:

    Rice puddling is my FAVORITE snack. FAVORITE. I can’t wait to try out your recipe. I used to make this pretty often. My recipe came from my husband’s grandmother’s cook book and it took more than an hour to bake. This seems much faster and just as yummy!

  2. marthaandme says:

    I was pretty shocked that my grandmother’s recipe didn’t stand a chance against this. My kids are nuts about this one.

  3. Frugal Kiwi says:

    I’ve not tried Rice Pudding with arborio. You do get a lovely creaminess with it in risotto, so it makes sense to use arborio for cream rice pudding.

  4. Oh, I love rice pudding. Thanks for another recommendation!

  5. Alexandra says:

    No raisins? All the same, I will have to try this recipe. Thanks!

    I have never used arborio,either. I used to make rice pudding often in France because it was the only desert my my ex-husband liked. I gave it a French flair by marinating the raisins in Cognac.

  6. marthaandme says:

    I am not a fan of raisins and Martha didn’t include them in this recipe, but you could definitely add them.

  7. This sounds really good. I love creamy things – will have to try.

  8. Sarah Henry says:

    I’ve tried to make rice pudding like my mum used to make, and mine was horrid and hers delish. So I’ll have to give Martha’s recipe a whirl.

  9. Sheryl says:

    Love the recipe – and now I’m officially drooling.

  10. marthaandme says:

    Really, you wouldn’t think it wouldn’t be hard to make at all, but my taste test proves that is not the case at all.

  11. jennifermargulis says:

    I’ve never successfully made rice pudding, Brette, but my husband really loves it. Maybe I haven’t been cooking it long enough? I want to definitely try this recipe…

  12. marthaandme says:

    I just cooked it till it seemed like it would be thick enough. I was nervous it was going to be runny, but it wasn’t

  13. I’m with Kerri–I LOVE rice pudding too. I’ll have to try your/Matha’s version. I’m fascinated with the idea of using arborio rice. I always use jasmine, but arborio makes sense.

  14. Does anyone know if the precooked rice that is available in a pouch that you just heat up is any good? I would think it would be kinda soggy but maybe they figured out a way to keep it fluffy.

  15. marthaandme says:

    I’ve never tried it. I don’t think that would work in rice pudding though. You need to cook the rice in the milk to create the pudding.

Leave a comment