Lemon Icebox Cookies

Looking for a yummy lemon cookie? This is a good one. Lemon Icebox Cookies from Jan/Feb Everyday Food were a winner here. I made half a batch of this since it said it made 60 cookies. You make the entire thing in the Cuisinart which is a nice quick solution that I loved! You do have to chill the dough after you make it, which adds some time to this. Once the log of dough is chilled, Martha says to roll it in sugar, then slice it. I think if I made this again, I might do something to the cookies after slicing – they looked pretty plain with just a little sugar on the sides.

They were wonderful though. They taste like a lemon shortbread, but just a bit lighter. They would be wonderful with tea or to serve to people after a nice lunch.  I enjoyed them a lot and everyone in the house gives them a thumbs up!

Bookmark and Share

9 Responses to Lemon Icebox Cookies

  1. Alexandra says:

    Sounds like a fun baking activity to do with my four-year-old granddaughter!

  2. I’m always looking for good lemon recipes. I love lemon!

  3. Nancy S. says:

    Thank you so much for the recommendation. I made these cookies over the weekend and they were fantastic!

  4. marthaandme says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed them! They disappeared very quickly at my house!

  5. Lysa says:

    I haven’t made these but I’ve made the lime meltaways also on MS site:

    http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/lime-meltaways-from-the-martha-stewart-show

    They are coated in confectioner’s sugar and are a delight!

  6. marthaandme says:

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll have to try them!

  7. Jacqueline says:

    Hi.
    Thanks for posting your photo of the cookies. I’m planning on making them, but I have a question: Do you use room-temperature butter or cold butter?
    Jacqueline

  8. marthaandme says:

    Hi Jacqueline. I usually take my butter out of the fridge and defrost it a bit in the microwave so it is soft. Let me know how the cookies turn out!

  9. Jacqueline says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the speedy reply. Will let you know how they come out.
    Regards,
    Jacqueline

Leave a comment