Martha Mondays: Guacamoldy

Thanks to SteakAndPotatoesGirl for choosing Guacamoldy with Creature Chips for this week’s project. I made this on Halloween for lunch. Cutting out tortillas with cookie cutters was a great idea, but they just aren’t the same as tortilla chips! I also have to admit I totally cheated on the guacamole. I thought the recipe seemed kind of bare. So I doctored it immensely so that it resembled the way I usually make guacamole. I used 2 avocadoes, 1 cup salsa and 1 cup a mix of sour cream and plain yogurt. I added a few tablespoons of fresh cilantro, poured in a tablespoon or two of the juice from a jar of jalapenos, and a few tablespoons of lemon juice. It was great. It doesn’t turn out very green, but everyone here likes it this way, so that’s the direction I went. It was a nice Halloween treat for us.

12 Responses to Martha Mondays: Guacamoldy

  1. This looks like a lot of fun! You always have such a great time with Halloween, I couldn’t wait to sign on this morning to see what you came up with for yesterday.

  2. Wow! That is a lot of changes. I liked the gaucamoldy, but then I don’t eat it that often so I’m not an expert or anything. And I loved the chips. My results are up (including Halloween stuff) http://www.perfectingpru.wordpress.com

  3. marthaandme says:

    I just knew no one would eat it the way the recipe was written so I wasn’t going to waste my avocadoes on it.

  4. marthaandme says:

    This was all I did. Last year we had a party but I couldn’t face all that work again!

  5. Desiree Vick says:

    I am not sure what happened, but I posted my guacamoldy post like 3 hours ago around noon. I left two comments on here, because I wasn’t sure if the first one went through, and now I am checking back and see none of my comments posted. Here is my link to my post for today…

    http://steaknpotatoeskindagurl.blogspot.com/2010/11/martha-mondays-guacamoldy-with-creature.html

    Happy belated Halloween!

  6. marthaandme says:

    No, none of them ever showed up. Weird.

  7. Selena Cate says:

    That sounds delicious! I love anything with avocados in them but the combination of all the ingredients are perfect. And I have some homemade salsa in the fridge just waiting to be a part of this recipe.

  8. marthaandme says:

    Homemade salsa sounds wonderful.

  9. marthaandme says:

    Sorry – this got caught in spam and I just found it!

  10. sassy says:

    I finally posted my results! Thanks for a fun pick, Steakandpotatoesgirl!

  11. Desiree Vick says:

    Haha that’s ok! I had sent another one right before that also but didn’t see it show up, so that’s why I posted that second message in case I hadn’t posted the first. But neither showed up! No worries šŸ™‚

    Thanks for playing along, sassy! Going to check out your post now!

Leave a comment