MSC Cupcake Club: Gingerbread Cupcakes

Gingerbread cupcakes – what could be a better pick for December? I was so enthusiastic about these, I even bought holiday cupcake papers and little gingerbread toothpick guys to decorate. This recipe is from the Martha Stewart Cupcake book. Visit the MSC Cupcake Club page and other members if you get a chance.

As always, these cupcakes were a breeze to whip up. There was only one small problem – I didn’t have quite enough ginger. I only had 1 1/2 tbsp and the recipe called for 2 tbsp. Sorry Martha!

This made 22 very small cupcakes. Usually I like to fill my cupcake tins pretty close to the top and have them rise out of the tins. There wasn’t enough to do this and they didn’t rise a lot.

I just made a plain white frosting and decorated with my toothpick guys (as always I am sure I will be embarrassed once I see the other club members’ creativity!).

As for taste, I was not a big fan. I would rather eat real gingerbread. The kids liked them and so did Mr. MarthaAndMe. I sent most of these off to school with Teen Martha who fed them to her Virgil (Latin) class.

Bookmark and Share

21 Responses to MSC Cupcake Club: Gingerbread Cupcakes

  1. Candice says:

    yes, ok…as i’m going down the blog roll, im finding its either they are really loved or not at all. i sent mine off to hubbys office and they loved them. but for me as a “baker”, i’m not so sure i’ll make these again. oh and the gingerbread men on sticks are great!

  2. Alisa Bowman says:

    I love reading about how you make due with whatever you’ve got. I should do that more often. I’m always so worried that I’ll ruin something by putting in a tiny bit less of an ingredient that I often don’t make certain dishes at all.

  3. marthaandme says:

    I guess I’m finding with a lot of Martha’s cupcakes that I would just rather have the thing the cupcake is based on rather than a cupcake imitation.

  4. That’s so bad that you didn’t like the taste, I really really enjoyed them. They were better when you at the cookie on top. Hopefully new month will suit your fancy a little better.

  5. Nina says:

    Love the little decorations on top. Those would definitely be a little easier than baking gingerbread cookies for all of them!

  6. These look like a nice still-festive alternative to the usual holiday fare. This weekend my girls and I decorated gingerbread houses for the first time ever and it was so much fun! Pix up on Facebook!

  7. marthaandme says:

    We do a gingerbread bread house every year – from a kit (shh – don’t tell Martha). It’s fun and my kids still ask to do it at 17 and 11.

  8. Megan says:

    I love your toothpick gingerbread men! Nothing to be embarrassed about. I always recommend making minis. You should definitely get a mini cupcake pan!

  9. marthaandme says:

    I need to. Thanks

  10. Kayte says:

    Your cupcakes are adorable with their cute little guys on the tops! I joined the group as I wanted to bake the different flavored cupcakes and icings and I knew I was no decorator, not a creative bone in my body, so I hoped people would be forgiving of my attempts. When I decorated mine, my teenage son said, “They look like gingerbread men down in the snow about to make snow angels.” This is why I don’t decorate…no appreciation for decorations from a household of guys…plenty of appreciation for the food itself, however. Thanks for being excited about these!

  11. marthaandme says:

    I don’t have decorating talent either. I would much rather eat something that tastes great then something that looks pretty and doesn’t taste great!

  12. I get so much from your commentary about how the process goes. It really helps me feel good about experimenting with confidence–and having fun in the kitchen with what I prepare.

  13. Sheryl Kraft says:

    How cute! Even if they didn’t taste great, they look great!

  14. Teresa B. says:

    Love your gingerbread decorations! I was a little disappointed in these cupcakes. But I’m a huge fan of ginger, so maybe my hopes were too high. Glad your family enjoyed them.

  15. Awww, your toothpick guys are super cute! This was definitely not a recipe that I think I’ll make again, but I suppose it was fun to try something different with ginger. I’ll stick with my gingerbread cookie recipe, though.

  16. Alexandra says:

    These cupcakes look so festive! I’m sure they will be gobbled up in no time.

  17. Tracey says:

    Your cupcakes look wonderful with the little gingerbread men πŸ™‚ It seems results on these were really mixed within the group, sorry they weren’t a hit for you. Hopefully next month will be better for everyone!

  18. Jeannette says:

    i think your little gingerbread cutouts are adorable πŸ˜€ much more creative than mine.

  19. Lauryn says:

    Your cupcakes look great! Those toppers are so cute! Great job!!!

  20. karen says:

    I love the cupcake toppers! Your cupcakes are adorable.

  21. Sugar B says:

    Cute cupcakes!

    I wasn’t a fan of this recipe and it received mixed results, so I do question whether or not it’s a personal preference for muffin-texture or what.

    Thanks so much for baking along with us this month! Happy Holidays!

Leave a comment