Easter Carrots

I know I’m a few months early, but I’ve already decided what I’m making for Easter. I am in love with these carrots. There was a fight over the leftovers here.

half a bag of baby carrots

2 heaping tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp butter

1 tsp dried dill

salt and pepper

4 tbsp white wine

chives or green onions

Slice the carrots into thick matchsticks – you want to get 4-6 per carrot. Boil until just tender. At the very end, drop in the green from green onions (scallions) or a handful of chives and just cook for a minute to wilt. Drain. Make little bundles of the carrots and tie with the chives or green onions (even if you only do a few, this still will look cute). Melt butter, sugar, dill, salt and pepper, and wine. Cook for a minute or two until combined and the wine has time to burn off and it thickens slightly.  Add the carrot bundles and gently stir, then serve. As you can see, I didn’t have a lot of success with the bundles, but I didn’t have much green onion here to work with. Next time I will have more and will be prepared. I just think this is so darn cute and will look wonderful for Easter.

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to Easter Carrots

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Meredith Resnick, Brette Sember. Brette Sember said: I'm a little early but I made Easter carrots: sweet little packets that will liven up my table http://wp.me/plYaL-1ss #food #easter #wsbr […]

  2. Barb says:

    I would just say that fighting over cooked carrots means that this is an excellent recipe. No more need be said. And I will make it!

  3. marthaandme says:

    You don’t normally see kids fighting over carrots, that is for sure! Good thing it wasn’t Easter because that would have been ugly at a holiday table!

Leave a comment